Peace, the Present and Morning Predictive Voice

December 1 2014 snow

I’ve had better days on the path.  Right now the desire is to write about peace.  When we remember that present conditions will not last indefinitely, it helps.  It surely does.

Peace is a state of perfect balance or still-point of well being in an ever changing world of causes and conditions that are in continual flux.

When we’re at peace, our outlook is positive and clear and our dreams seem as if they are within reach–a level of optimism accompanies it.

Life presents challenges.  We get triggered.  Disappointments happen.  People can be… well, no sense going there, right?  Like I said, it wasn’t the  best of days and sometimes the best of us have to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off and climb back up on the horse and keep going.  What horse? The horse of mindfulness.  I’ll explain in a moment.

I woke this morning with a warning of sorts. You know those moments between sleep and full waking consciousness, right? That’s the point at which I clearly heard (as if I was speaking to myself, as these things typically go)… I was saying to myself, “Don’t let anything anyone says today upset you.”  I argued with the voice a bit knowing who I would be seeing later in the day.  Then I promptly forgot about it.

I remember it after the fact.  It turned out I did start to become upset but went to the studio to finish an art project and then hit the gym to work it out that way.  There I was doing chin ups at the YMCA when that OMG moment hit.  I remembered the words that I heard that morning!  The person I went to see did say some things… suffice it to say, it did take me back a bit.

Then, if that wasn’t enough, I came home later to hear fowl mouthed roommate cursing into the air several times throughout the evening even with my door shut.

Since coming down from the mountain there have been numerous challenges to my previous hermit lifestyle which (let’s face it) I still maintain to some extent to keep my sanity.  And I’m gradually learning not to let circumstances overwhelm me.  I have been able to respond in a low-key manor while still remaining true to my principles.

Why respond in a low-key manor?  because otherwise awareness is lost when drama ensues and without maintaining awareness or mindfulness (by being sucked into someone’s drama or my own past triggers) what happens is that peace flies out the window. And with it those dreams that seemed within reach drift farther away and well-being doesn’t seem so “well”, pardon the pun.

Am I just learning this stuff?  No, of course not.  Just applying it more consciously when life is more challenging.  Like I said, I’ve had better days but the voice this morning was right about not letting it upset me.

You know when I remembered the morning voice?  When I was thinking nothing at all because I was using all my might to pull my body up by my arms.  I was completely open and in the present moment, much as I was when first waking and like as I am when doing a psychic reading.

I will add one more thing and then will get to sleep (it’s getting late).  I realized my physical body reacts to triggers (like to day what other people say shouldn’t upset me–so sayeth the voice) when my emotions and mental faculties seem to be less reactive, the physical body felt like it took a couple of physical ‘hits’.  I could separate those out and found it interesting.  I don’t think I’ve been aware of it before–the physical body having memory and responding on it’s own apart from mental body and emotional body.  The physical body reactions seemed separate and more pronounced.

I always find it awe inspiring that some part of me or some energy of Divine Mind is a step ahead of me, knowing what’s about to happen and wiring back to me particular heads-up guidance.

When I heard a roommate’s foul mouth cursing loudly more than once this evening, I had to smile a little.  Remember the ‘morning-voice message’.  Okay, good buddy 10-4, message received (good ole’ CB radio talk).  Let there be Peace!

 

