Life’s Illusions, Tarot Card: The Moon and Help for the overwhelmed

The Moon can create shadows, Life's Illusions
The Moon can create shadows, Life’s Illusions

Here’s some advice when you are feeling overwhelmed with lots to do and potentially stressful change.  Okay.  Truth.  This one’s for me.  Sometimes I think of receiving a flower when I pull a tarot card.  I give myself a flower in some way when I pull a card to ask for insight, advice, guidance–divination!

That’s what it is after all, isn’t it?  We turn our eyes upward and say a little help.  We need a time out.  And when taking one for ourselves, pull an Angel Card or a Tarot Card and open up to wisdom.  Just shuffling the cards helps to calm it all down enough to hit center, right?

If you don’t have a set of cards or runes or some divination tool, you may consider the comfort they can bring.

We’re moving this week.  And most everyone knows what fun that is.  I’d like to know what I need to consider today regarding this move, what advice do the cards have for me as I’m feeling like I need this little time out to seek wisdom.

Oh, the card I drew is THE MOON.  Wow, so believing in illusions and experiencing distortions.  Appearance Emptiness!  Here we go again.  This is good though.  It reminds me of the Buddhist teachings that I’ve been embracing lately about the nature of reality and oh so much more!  I need not go further really.

But I will for others who may need this little help too.  The Moon card reminds us that our anxiety, fear, doubt and apprehensions are shadows; therefore not real.  A good friend of mine quoted Mark Twain to me recently who said, “‘I’ve had a lot of worries in my life, most of which never happened.'”

That applies here with this Moon card.

And then there’s Joni Mitchell and Life’s Illusions:  ♫ I’ve looked at life from both sides now. From win and lose and still somehow. It’s life’s illusions I recall. ♫  Recall that song?

Most of the time we live in a security blanket of illusion — our life remains the same day in and out.  Then suddenly there’s a move coming up, a change of location, a change of routine and the security blanket falls away.  That’s what this Moon card represents.

Shadow times, transition times can be maddening but it doesn’t have to be!  The Moon comes but so does the Sun. Change is natural.  The universe supports it!

