Do the gods smile down on us on certain days? Or is it just energy striving for balance? Taking refuge in devotionals to deities

gods smiling down2

I had to blog this!  It’s not about astrology or divination or the psychic–actually, today’s post is not my usual fare.

It’s just that I may have broken out of Dante’s inferno.  I had to laugh at the sign at the entrance of this apartment building which reads, “relax now, your home”–but most comical is that the image that accompanies those words is a tropical drink glass.   Alcohol and drugs could help numb the experience of some types apartment living–I do neither. My experience since the current downstairs neighbors moved in has been one in which the sign should read, “Abandon hope ye who enter here”–  which Dante says is written above the gates of hell.

I know,  I know!  Yeah, look–we make our own heaven or hell–don’t preach to the choir.  But sometimes we have a little help one way or the other.  Yesterday the help I received was… well, I wanted to write about it and add that I have also recently retreated into deep devotionals to my most cherished deities.

Wonderful day yesterday!  Was that ‘Life Itself’ balancing out the day-of-frustration from the day before?  No matter; but the gods did seem to smile down up on me in these ways:

started the cool~ish morn with a one hour walk getting out the door early before Lady India downstairs began her usual morning tirade and on my last lap around the ‘complex-ed complex’ noticed not one single body was at the pool.  Really?  So I took advantage by sitting in a poolside lounge chair, shutting down the music playing in my ear (sorry M.J.) and wow, listened to the birds and let the morning breezes whirl around me.

Close to heaven; yet,  the silence could be broken at any moment by the vocal cords of other humans.  It wasn’t–should I grab my suit?

I had just walked an hour and a little swim could be nice as long as it’s quiet…. got home and India was ‘up and at ’em’ –voice boxes fully engaged.  Ahhhh, and that’s Life in the Land of men with wide horizontal striped polo shirts, madras checkered colored shorts and flip-flop zories shoes where the women are women and the men are too!

No matter; I stripped down and grabbed a suit and changed,  and gathered a few things and drove down… yeah, I could walk but every second counts.  Checked the water and the PH and Chlorine levels were rarely perfect but it gets even better!

I swam laps for 27 minutes right down the center of the pool and nearly started to pretend that it was my own private lagoon!  I love imagination!

After the first half hour having the pool to myself I began to fantasize while I swam—maybe all the humans went to another planet? But it was more likely that since school starts tomorrow they’re all busy with those kinds of activities—after all, they’ve had the pool with their screams and cannonballs all summer long!

I began to tire from the 30 minutes of laps so I interspersed arm and leg water resistance exercises between laps–and still had the pool to myself!  I even had time to practice flip turns which is something you really don’t want to do in public if you can help it!

Wow, the gods were really smiling down upon me today!  I then sat in the sun resting from all my exercise—I’d walked an hour and swam for an hour; what more could a girl ask for? Sitting in the sun all alone!  Listening to the birds and the breezes looking at the sky with so much gratitude!

I looked up at the sky and smiled as I saw a cloud that looked like someone running; awesome.  I saw other patterns in the clouds and enjoyed my speculations forgetting all my cares and remembering how cool it was to see the angel at the bottom of the pool!   How’s that?  Well, …

Snow Angel type reflection cast from sun creating shadows while swimming breast stroke
Snow Angel type reflection cast from sun creating shadows while swimming breast stroke

As I swam the breast stroke interspersed with freestyle, and while the sun shone upon the whole affair, I noticed that the movement of the arms in the water and the movement of  the water itself cast a shadow  at the bottom of the pool which looked sort of like those snow angels you make when you lay down in the snow and slide your arms up and down.

Anyway, it was my own private, magical moment and I felt happy and enchanted. 

The rest of my day was peaceful–quiet.  Thank you to the gods who smiled down and all friends of the Light!

PS  yesterday was a rare gift, perhaps from Venus whose gift I’ve had an eye out for as she exited my 1st house to the 2nd.  One awesome gift as she moved through my first house was a 20 pound weight loss; but maybe the final departing gift was one of peace and solitude which I do value so highly.

I’m also hoping my 3rd house transiting Saturn in Scorpio neighbor karma has finally exhausted itself and has completely played out!  It had to be karmic–anything as intense as this neighbor situation has to be karmic!  Their lease is up in January I’m told–everything  must eventually come to an end.

