Ego at work in Spirituality and in Psychic Development

Ego
Ego
Ordinary Mind or Special and therefore separate?

Do you think that sometimes we need a good head cold or otherwise run-of-the-mill flu or virus to get ourselves to slow down a bit and contemplate life a bit more?  Last week was the first week of school and half of our family has the sniffles, headaches, body aches, stiff necks and all that jazz.  Toss in a weather shift along with early morning rushes to catch the school bus and it’s no wonder! 

There’s a change in the air in more ways than one and for some of us, when we stop rushing around and are forced to put our bodies into a slumbering position simply because we cannot stand up anymore, it is then that we grab a book and hot cup of tea.

Not that I need a cold or flu to contemplate life—it seems like I do that a lot anyway, but lately I’m thinking about how the ego works and especially how that applies in our attempts to be more spiritual and intuitive. 

I’ve got some ideas that I’m flushing out for this week’s newsletter about how we make moments of merging with higher mind some sort of special and sacred event which keeps it at a distance—we don’t think of it as normal and every day, which it is and should be!

I’ve got to find a good way to express that with some examples and I’m toying with it as my own inspiration kicks in while I’m grabbing for the Kleenex and flu medicine.  Why should these moments of transcendence and clarity and light be deemed so sacred and special when they should really be seen as ordinary and normal?  The Buddhist refers to it as ‘ordinary mind’ in order, I feel, to keep it close to our experience rather than profanely distant. 

The ego, you see, wants to shout it out to the world, “I had this magical spiritual experience!  Majestic and spiritual and special and look at me and how unique I am” and this brings one the separate identity that the ego needs to feel special.   This happens as we intentionally try to develop our intuition and in psychic development too. 

We keep the memory of the momentary flash of insight that we receive in meditation or the unique vision or merging with higher mind as special, unique and therefore separate from who we really are which is mimicking patriarchal religion which purports that ‘god’ is outside of us somewhere else.  We keep our spiritual communions the same way calling them abnormally sacred when they are simply part of what the Buddhists call ordinary mind. 

Well, I have more work to do on these ideas as drink my tea to soothe my sore throat.  I’m thinking how even my cold and flu is being grabbed up by my ego in order to reinforce my identity and I laugh!

