Regular Deck of Playing Cards Give Cartomancy Reading – Cartomancy versus Tarot – Past, Present, Future Reading of Elbow Question

This is an experiment with using a regular deck of playing cards for purposes of divination.  I have a single question/issue here.  I’ve never used playing cards to do a reading with before, but there’s a first time for everything!  I don’t have much time today, so this will have to be a quickie! 

Here’s a past, present and future 3-card spread.  We should be able to get ‘down and dirty’ with that one since time is an issue today.  I was going through some papers that I need to file while looking for something and came across a little hand-out that I received from a class in “Cartomancy”.

Okay, so let me think of a question or issue…  something that has been on my mind lately has been my right arm/elbow.  It started to hurt last summer after marathon weed pulling and yard work type gardening sessions. I’m sure pulling on my lawn mower didn’t help either but I’ve mowed my own lawn for many years now.  I’ve never really recovered and while taking up yoga recently while holding some postures, I see that my right arm is noticeably weaker as compared to the left. 

I know that the subconscious mind and higher mind know what’s been going on with that elbow.  I just need to bring it to my conscience mind—thus, divination!

Let’s try this method for fun and see what additional insights about this elbow we can gain using the cards to bring forth information about the past, the present and the future of this elbow.  I guess my greatest concern would be around being able to regain the strength in the right arm and elbow again.

So, let the shuffle begin…. 3 cards… past, present, future.  Ha!  Just remembered that I need to take the joker out of the deck before I do the shuffle…. Here we go. 

Past:  9 of Spades

Well the first thing I’m thinking of has to do with how yard work relates to the gardening tool, a spade.  And YIKE, 9 relates (via numerology) to a transition, death, ending, permanent change.  Spades are used for digging in the garden.  Well, I pick up my card and look at what I wrote on the 9 of spades card itself.  On the card I wrote, “warning, papers, accidents”.  Does this mean that I had a warning and did not heed it and thus had an accident?  Gosh, I do remember it hurting like blazes at first, nearly like a muscle pull.  On the hand out paper it says, “Bad luck in all things, depression and low energy, destruction, deaths, extreme anxiety.”  Well, that’s pretty negative!  Isn’t it?   I don’t think that I need to go much further; after all, I already know the past.  I’m going to go with “a bad luck accident” in my interpretation.  I may look at the tarot suit of swords as a comparison.  The 9 of Swords in tarot is about worrying too much—that’s one interpretation that I’d give it.  One insight I’d give here to myself here is that my worry about the elbow (I did fret about it quite a lot because it has been limiting—hurting with nearly every moVement) may have prolonged my suffering.  Too much fretting kept the pain going perhaps.   Okay, let’s look at the present. 

Present:  8 of Diamonds

Okay, my first impression in just turning over this card was positive.  The red color of the diamonds is energizing and 8 is a strength number and indicate success.  And my elbow is getting better; it hurts less with activities since the start of spring and warmer weather.  I am strengthening it with Yoga which it seems to agree with more than with pulleys or free weights.  The yoga exercises are “closed chain” (physical therapy lingo from my days as a physical therapist) and the elbow and arm are responding slowly but I do see progress which is encouraging.  So, the 8 of diamonds could be indicating the success in the present.  Diamonds in playing cards relates to the suit of Pentacles (Coins) in the Tarot divination system.  Earth, earthy, materiality –that’s the archetype.  Hands on earth with yoga postures—that’s one way to interpret the earthiness of the suit of diamonds here and the numerological 8 which relates to strength and success adds to the interpretation.  I think the 8 of Diamonds, thus far, confirms what I already know and that is that what I am doing about the issue/problem/question about the elbow is positive.  But now, let’s look at what I wrote on this card in the cartomancy class that I took so very long ago.  Ha!  Well, I wrote “spending money”.  Well, I did buy a new yoga mat to do my yoga outside and a while back an elbow brace.  Let me look at the hand out to see if there’s more but before I do that, what is money? Energy.  So I am spending energy doing yoga.  Hmmmmm.  Honestly, it says “a marriage and travel late in life.  Financial ups and downs.”  I don’t know what marriage would have to do with this—I’m happily and contentedly single.  Ha ha.  I’m going to interpret that “marriage” reference to the marriage of the left and right arm being equal, merging in that respect.    Well, the ups and downs part may be a little message to me that there may still be good days and bad days with this elbow discomfort, but overall the progress is positive.  When we compare the tarot 8 of Pentacles which is the counterpart to the 8 of Diamonds in that system, we see someone working (image of someone working) on the card.  The card is about making efforts and those efforts being rewarded.  Sounds good so far.  Now, the future prediction… shall we go there?  Remember, I want to know if this arm is ever going to be good as new or at least back to the non-injured state (if not better than it was to start with).

Future:  10 of Diamonds

Okay, so here we have another coin or earth card.  I think of 10 as a successful number.  We always hear, “On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the best…etc.”  So far, so good I think.  On the card I wrote, “small money”.  Hmmmmmmm.  Maybe this means that I will always have to maintain some (albeit small) effort to keep that arm in shape and pain-free.  Yet, on the other hand what the hand-out says about the 10 of Diamonds is this:  Money and travel highlighted.  Fortunate changes.  Well, yay! Sounds good to me!  Fortunate change is exactly what I wanted to hear and now I can hold a vision of this arm being pain-free and strong.  In the Tarot divination system, the 10 of Pentacles is one my favorite cards.  I would especially love it to come up when I asked about money in the future. 

And, that’s that.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m way overdue for my daily yoga session. However, I will do my work out today with renewed hope and increased optimism!   

I learned a little bit about cartomancy by doing this reading; I hope you did too.

