Daily Divination 8-30-11 Is it ever appropriate to subdue our light and keep a low profile? Bide Your Time Today. I CHING Kua 36

Use today to work on your inner strengths until any current obstructions pass. Keep a low profile and bide your time while strengthening you resources. Are there some times in life when it is best to maintain a low profile? I do think there are times when it is appropriate to subdue our light. Let’s say that “light” is optimal cheerfulness/happiness, is it appropriate to approach someone in the grips of death’s mourning with some type of glee? Perhaps you have just manifested that abundance on some level, is it good form to go into a poorhouse and flaunt your newly manifested wealth? Now you get the idea. There are times when we need to moderate our light and subdue its brilliance. That’s the gist of today’s message.

Share your light with others as it is appropriate. Would you visit the sick and bask in the light of your own good health? There are times to subdue our brilliance and use our energy in a moderate way. In order to “be” with another, we must adjust our energy to their vibrational level in order to make the connection with them—otherwise we may as well not be there at all since no connection is made. Can we moderate and adjust our light on certain occasions? We should be able to. Once the connection is made, then we can bring others into our vibration a bit more, uplifting them gradually if that’s appropriate for the occasion.

Just as sunlight begins to fade at the end of the day, everything in life has a cooling down period. As humans, if our energy was going full throttle 24-7, we’d burn ourselves out very quickly.

For my own personal life I find that drawing the I CHING KUA 36 (Darkening of the Light) to be meaningful. It is validating the energy regrouping or recouping that seems to be happening after a rapid-fire two weeks with family—a week with my grandson and another with the rest of the family. The sudden shift from a solitary, quiet and serene life on the mountain to 24-7 group energy dynamics with large expenditures of energy… well, let’s just say that I am recovering from a head and chest cold right now.

In the Book of Changes, The I CHING, by Wilhelm/Baynes, it is written about this Kua, “One must not unresistingly let himself to be swept along by unfavorable circumstances, nor permit his steadfastness to be shaken. He can avoid this by maintaining his inner light, while remaining outwardly yielding. With this attitude he can overcome greatest adversities.”

I shared a hotel room with a mother and teenager who’s arguing and bickering with each other resulted in numerous daily emotional explosions. Did I fail to maintain my inner light? Was it simply that I was out of my normal routine and exposed to people and places that my immune system wasn’t used to? Or is my current cough and cold the result of a combination of both—or neither?

The Book of Changes says, “In such times one should not fall in with the practice of others; neither should one drag them censoriously into the light. One should let many things pass and not try to be all-knowing.”

How will this information apply to your own life today? What comes to mind at the moment is that song (The Gambler) by Kenny Rogers “… you got to know when to hold ‘em, and know when to fold ‘em.” For me today, I’m thinking that for two weeks I was out of my routine and not getting a lot of rest and vibrating like mad to take my out-of-town family members to as many waterfalls and mountain top attractions as I could cram into a day and then hustling down to join the rest of our group to the outdoor center and me at 63 keeping up with teenagers and 30 and 40 year olds… well, my moderate life went into overdrive and now my body is forcing the time of rest and regeneration. My style is to hastily push to restore balance; yet, disengagement and down time is what the body is calling for.

There are various messages woven through today’s cosmic communiqué; you will by now know which one was for you.

Keep the yin/yang symbol in mind today. We would not know light if it wasn’t for the dark. Strive to maintain the light.

Many myths and traditions teach us to equate light with “good” and dark with “bad.”

Approaching life from a rounder and holistic point of view observes the two as irrevocably joined–sustaining, relieving, and complementing one another.

TIP:  Here’s what I do when I need to heal or rebalance or clear energy.  I vow to sit in a meditation and breathe until it all is restored.  This is what I plan for today.  It’s best if you can do this in the SUN, and luckily the Sun has just come out here…. some days it’s not until Noon until the Sun burns off the fog.  I sit and do re-birthing type breaths–long and deep and slow, moving no other muscle in my body but my breathing apparatus until I feel healed and restored. I vow to do this all day long if necessary–but usually an hour or two does the trick.  Yet, I put no time limit upon it.  I started doing this many years ago where I used to live, in Florida where Sun was plentiful, but even without the Sun, it still works. 

Yeah, tha’s my plan… stillness and deep breathing and Sun…. that’ll work! 

PS–lots of water in conjunction with the above stillness, Sun and breath work helps too!

Leave a Reply

