Deity Merging Meditation – Samadhi

I thought that I was heading to bed just now, but apparently not.  I’ve been thinking about something that I read in a book recently and thought to blog about it.  Perhaps this is something that readers may like to consider.

Actually, what happens with me so much of the time is that I will have some sort of  breakthrough insight or inspiration and then later I read about the very same thing in a book somewhere. 

In this case, the discovery inspiration occurred some time ago and I thought of it as my own private experience which most people wouldn’t understand or would consider egotistical.  Therefore, it was something that I pretty much kept to myself.  

However, after having read something similar in book written by Lama Surya Das (Awakening the Buddha Within), I now consider it worthy of reiterating in a public form–this blog.  More and more I realize that no experience is truly unique–we are all so interconnected.  This, of course, is the basis of Buddhism. 

So anyway, let me get to the point.  It happened in a meditation some time ago.  I was saying a rosary, you see, and in this particular case it happened to be a time in my life when I was deeply reconnecting to a deity from my catholic upbringing–the Blessed Mother.  I have taken this deity out of the little box in which the catholic church has placed her;  and by that I mean that I relate to her as a form of The Feminine Divine–quite like Lakshmi of the Hindu tradition or Kuan Yin, the Buddhist goddess of compassion.  You get the idea.  You might say that Mary or Blessed Mother was my personal reference for the Feminine Divine that I was reaching out to at that time in my life.

In any event, I’m aware not to just recite words in a rote matter; when I say a mantra or prayer repeatedly, I think of the meaning of what I’m saying as much as I can and using emotion as much as possible, I make great effort to connect deeply with the words.  While doing so, I was suddenly aware of something that straight-line catholics would probably say is sacrilegious or downright blasphemous. 

Now to find the words.  Well, let me just come right out and say it.  I merged with her energy and became one as if I actually was her.  Now, before I go on, this was not an intention and I honestly never considered such a concept, but there it was nonetheless.  All that anyone could imagine the Feminine form of The Divine actually being, I suddenly became.  It was if the greater part of me “took on” that energy and understood it experientialy. These are quite beautiful and overwhelming experiences–Samadhi.  Further words would only minimize these experiences, so I won’t keep trying.

I read the book by the Buddhist Lama, those pages revealed that a customary Buddhist practice is to intentionally incorporate doing this very thing in their devotional meditations–merging with the deity. 

Reading about this common Buddhist practice really validated my experience and gave it more public authenticity. 

Samadhi is a Hindu and Buddhist term that I relate to as a bliss state which envelops us when in a concentrated state of connection with higher levels of consciousness during meditation.  I’m not sure if Hindus or Buddhist would agree with that definition or not; however, I sort of link it in to my experience of deity merging. 

I loved this little story in the Lama Surya Das book, Awakening the Buddha Within.  He recounts how, in a talk to school children about meditation, he explained about following the sound of the Gong.  “Children have a way of just sensing without self-editing”, he writes.  One child, when asked to follow the sound of the Gong to see where it goes, later told his mother, “When I watched and listened to where the sound went, I didn’t get closer to God, I was God.” 

The Lama wrote as follows, When I had finished the Gong Meditation, which only takes about thirty seconds, I asked, “So where did the sound go?”  I couldn’t believe it.  Some kids even had both hands raised!  How much we adults have forgotten.  They didn’t even question their belief, “What is God?”  “What is Buddha?” or “Who am I to say I am God, who am I to know these things?”  No such self-editing takes place at that age.  Just “oh yeah, God, I am that.”

If you really contemplate this, there’s nothing really strange about taking on these qualities and energies.  We should be doing so.  All of these energies are really within us to begin with and we are just tapping into them.  As we hear so often, We are One.  

Joseph Campbell or Carl Jung would say that all deities are archetypes who already exist (and always have existed) in our collective unconscious.

In my work as a psychic medium, I merge with energies on the other side all the time–especially in the mediumship part of my work.  I’d just never considered merging with… well, you know!  Prior to that experience long ago, it had just never occurred to me. 

I could make greater points and write a whole chapter about this; but alas it’s nearing 2 am and it’s been a rather long day of shoveling snow, doing laundry, readings and other assorted tasks.  I need to rest, but felt an urge to make this blog post.  I will let it stand, as is, forgiving myself for not having given this topic true justice.  Nor have I written very eloquently this evening, but I’ve offered my excuses for that already.

I will close with a recommendation that you give this a try yourself with a deity, yidam, saint or angel with which you most resonate.  Or follow the sound of a Gong or Tibetan Bell or Bowl.   In that way, no further words are necessary.   Besides, these are, as the song by the Bee Gees goes… Only Words.  You can read about all of this in books or blogs, but it’s your own experience that matters. I’ve just shared one of mine.

